Winners of the Library Research Prize

Date: 05-02-2023

Time: 03:00 PM

Location: DiMenna-Nyselius Library, Multimedia Room 101

Join the DiMenna-Nyselius Library & Faculty Library Committee as we honor the Winners of the 2023 Library Research Prize

Tuesday, May 2nd 2023, 3:00pm

DiMenna-Nyselius Library, Multimedia Room 101

Undergraduate and Graduate student winners, and Honorable Mentions will discuss their research projects, followed by a Q&A, faculty remarks, and refreshments. The Library Research Prize recognizes exemplary scholarship through effective research strategies and demonstrated use of the DiMenna-Nyselius Library’s resources, services, and staff expertise. There are two $1,000 prizes, presented to the undergraduate student winner and the graduate student winner. We will also be awarding two honorable mentions and these projects will each receive $250.


Jack Devlin, Class of 2023

MS Biomedical Engineering

“Project Title: “Chiral Sorting of Single-walled Carbon Nanotubes Using Tripeptides”

BIEG 6971/6972: Thesis 1 & 2, Dr. Isaac Macwan, Assistant Professor, Electrical & Biomedical Engineering


Isabella Poschmann, Class of 2023

Major: International Business and Business Analytics, minor in Anthropology

“The Origins of North Korean Refugee Treatment in China and South Korea: A Comparative Study Understanding Chinese and South Korean Relations with North Korea”

INST 4999: Senior Capstone Seminar, Dr. Janie Leatherman, Professor of Politics & International Studies


Isabella DelVecchio and Rhiannya Byrne, Class of 2024

MA School Psychology

“Specific Learning Disability in Written Language: Characteristics and Implications”

SPED 5413: Theories/Intro to Learning Disabilities, Dr. Evelyn Bilias Lolis, Interim Dean & Associate Professor of Psychology & Education

Thomas Burke, Class of 2024

Major: History & minors in Classical Studies and Irish Studies

“The Transformation of Elite Political Thought in Ancient Greece”

CLST 3325: Athenian Democracy and Empire, Dr. Giovanni Ruffini, Professor, Classical Studies

Thank you to the 2023 Library Research Prize judges:

Danushka Bandara, PhD, Assistant Professor, Computer Science

Julie Berrett-Abebe, PhD, Assistant Professor, Social Work

Curtis Ferree, MLIS, MFA, Associate Dean for Public Services & Coordinator of  the Academic Commons Partnership

Jennifer Schindler-Ruwisch, DrPH, Assistant Professor, Public Health

Ann Victor, MLIS, Acquisitions & Cataloging Strategies Librarian

Related Web Site :

For more information, contact Lisa Thornell / 2138 /